Doctor of Economic Development (DED) Students

Jason Banegas

Entered the DED program: Fall 2019
Anticipated graduation date: Fall 2021

Cert. Infrastructure Disaster Management, Texas A&M Engineering
B.A. Classics, University of New Mexico
M.A. Economics, University of Oklahoma

Research interests – Environmental, Resource, and Energy Economics, Disaster Mitigation, Preparation, and Recovery

Jason is a native Las Crucen who spends much of his extracurricular time outdoors exploring caves, camping, hiking, and biking. He also enjoys practicing yoga, playing guitar, and listening to live music. Jason served 9 years as an officer in the U.S. Air Force, and several years as an entrepreneur before returning home and beginning his doctorate at NMSU. His current research focuses on water economics and policy.

Bernard Baah-Kumi

Entered the DED program: 
Anticipated graduation date: 


Research Interests

Brett Burke

Jaime Chua

Kyle Eagar

Md Ziaur Khan

Rodrick McSherry

Alisha Murphy

Luyen Nguyen

Entered the DED program: 2015
Anticipated graduation date: Fall 2020

Ma Economics

Research interests – Innovation, Entrepreneurship, Economic Growth, and Income Inequality; Banking Finance and Economic Stability, Economic Development, Investment

Luyen Nguyen earned a BA in Accounting at Hanoi Finance and Accounting University (1995), worked in Finance and Accounting field before becoming a lecturer at the Banking Academy of Vietnam in 2000.  She has given lectures in Financial Market, Stock Market, Portfolio Management and conducted research independently and joined research projects with the State Bank of Vietnam.  In 2011, she earned a Master’s in Business Administration (MBA) at Troy University, AL. Since 2015 she has been pursuing the Doctor of Economic Development program at New Mexico State University, during the time she got a Master’s in Economics in 2018. She has been working as a teaching assistant, research assistant, and instructor in Microeconomics and Macroeconomics. Her research has been accepted and presented at The Western Social Science Association, The Southern Economic Association, and The Western Economic Association International conferences.



Sajid Noor

Ejiro Osiobe

Entered the DED program: Fall
Anticipated graduation date: Spring 2020

B Sc; General Economics Madonna University
M.A. Financial and International Economics Wichita State University

Research Interests – Human and Physical Capital, NGO Theories, Gift Economy, Regional Development, and Economic Analysis 

Ejiro (Jiji) U. Osiobe () is currently pursuing his Doctor of Economic Development with a concentration in Regional Development. His current research is on Human and Physical capital in Latin Americans. When Jiji isn’t working on his research or teaching, he cycles and plays tennis or soccer.


Carlos Silva

Erin Sumner

Entered the DED program: 
Anticipated graduation date: 

Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with an emphasis on economics
Master of Arts in Policy Economics

Research Interests – Economic development. Water Science. Educational policies in economic development. 

Erin Sumner is a second-year doctoral student in the Doctor of Economic Development Program and a first-year doctoral student in the Water Science Ph.D program at New Mexico State University. Her current research includes a focus on educational policies and institutions that foster economic development. Additional interests include water supply and management practices that provide access to water for developing communities.


Shanelle Trail



Doctor of Economic Development Alumni

Ismaiel Naser Abdulla Abuamoud ’11
Rodolfo Acosta Perez ’11
Aedh Faisal A. Alrasheed ’18
Bernard Baah-Kumi ’19
Richard Riney Bennett ’19
Starla Elizabeth Bennett ’19
Jazmine Nicole Brantley ‘ 15
Arthur Harry Burgess III ’11
Steven M. Chavez ’13
Leonardo Delgado ’18
Linh Thi Thuy Do ’17
Sergio R. Gonzalez Santana ’15
Boris Dexter Higgins ’16
Saleh Alhussin Ali Idhirij ’19
Christine R. Logan ’17
Emma Loya Apodaca 16
Noel Andres Martinez ’19
Griselda Teresa Martínez Cereceres ’14
Hien Thi Thu Nguyen ’12
Christopher Achazie Osuoha ’18
Fred Kenneth Owensby ’14
Victor Owusu-Nantwi ’16
Francisco Javier Pallares ’15
Rafael Perez Pena ’17
Jothiratne Ganithage Sri Ranjith ’12
Francisca Reyes ’14
Manuel Lorenzo Reyes-Loya ’12
Luis Enrique Rodriguez Davey ’18
Eduardo Saucedo ’12
Leila Shadabi ’19
Marcella Frances Shelby ’15
Carlos Guilherme Silva ’17
Dale C. Spencer ’16
Ndem Tazoh Tazifor ’12
Abby Shenbaum Train ’11
Lucinda Vargas ’18
Miguel A. Vicens Feliberty ’13
John Kramer Winingham ’13
Brent David Ziarnick ’12