Awards in the PGA Golf Management Program

2015 Jones Cup winning team
Left to Right: students Anthony Del Dotto, Cole Lorenz, Brett Walker, Nate LeBlanc, Redge Camacho, and NMSU PGA Golf Management Program Specialist, Josh Salmon. November 4, 2015 (Submitted photo)
2015 Jones Cup team and PGA scoreboard
Left to Right: Redge Camacho, Brett Walker, Anthony Del Dotto, Josh Salmon (NMSU PGA Golf Management Program Specialist), Nate LeBlanc, and Cole Lorenz. November 4, 2015 (Submitted photo)
2015 Jones Cup PGA Scoreboard
2015 Jones Cup custom head covers
2015 Jones Cup custom head covers for each player were donated by PGA Golf Management alumnus Justin Dahrling. (Submitted photo)
Custom head covers donated by alumnus Justin Dahrling

November 5, 2015, by Pat Gavin, Dir., PGA Golf Management, Department of Marketing, via email

PGA 2015 Jones Cup

The NMSU PGA Golf Management team was victorious on November 4, 2015, at the PGA Jones Cup, the national event for all 19 accredited PGA Golf Management Universities. The team captured its second Jones Cup, and first since 2006, by nine strokes over defending champion Campbell University. [Read the PGA/Turner Sports Interactive article.]

The NMSU team was comprised of five students — Redge Camacho, Anthony Del Dotto, Nate LeBlanc, Cole Lorenz, and Brett Walker — and was coached by Program Specialist Josh Salmon.

Nate LeBlanc and Brett Walker also brought home the Individual Medalist trophy; they tied at a score of -4 over 36 holes.

Congratulations to Nate, Brett, the entire team, and Josh for his leadership.

2015 PGA Jones Cup NMSU Tribute Video

Published on Nov 30, 2015. Used with PGA permission.

Custom head covers

Sun Country Awards

Professional Golf Management (PGM) professor Pat Gavin (photo by Darren Phillips)

Pat Gavin

Pat Gavin (Director, PGA Golf Management Program) brought home two awards this week during the annual PGA Sun Country Section meeting and awards dinner.

First, he won the Bill Strausbaugh Award, given for displaying outstanding integrity, commitment to mentoring, and making significant impact on the careers of PGA professionals.

The second award was the Section’s highest honor — PGA Golf Professional of the Year. This award is given for continued commitment to the profession, service to his fellow professionals, and representing the association in a very positive light.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.