Distinguished Alumni


2016: Loren R. Cook (BAcc ‘86, MAcc ’91)
2015: Jerald ‘Jerry’ Smith (BBA ’77)
2014: Bobby Lutz (BBA ’73, MBA ‘75)
2013: Lee Ellen Banks (’88), Raul Prieto (’84, ’85)
2012: Jackie Kerby Moore (‘82)
2011: Todd L. Bisio (’94)
2010: Julie A. Dill (’81)
2009: Brenda Joy Baca Alvarez (’81)
2008: Kevin Johnson (’81)
2007: Greg Maxwell (’78)
2006: Brad Gordon (’78)
2005: Joseph Semprevivo (’98)
2004: Linda Doubrava (’83)
2003: Mike Rogers (’73)
2002: Lisa Donnini (’78)
2001: Chris Knackstedt (’91)
2000: Philip Cook (’84)
1999: Laura Mathers Conniff (’74)
1988: Centennial — 100 Outstanding Alumni
1963-1998 Distinguished Alumni

Distinguished Alumni Medallion

Distinguished Alumni Award

Sponsored by NMSU’s Alumni Association and presented during Homecoming. The Distinguished Alumni award recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves and brought honor and distinction to their Alma Mater.

Seven awards, one for each undergraduate college and one for an international alumnus, are presented to living alumni. In addition, one or more posthumous awards may be made each year at the discretion of the Selection Committee.

Nominees must have attended NMSU and are judged according to their contributions to society, and/or their profession, after attending NMSU. While not mandatory, contributions to the advancement of NMSU and service to the NMSU Alumni Association will be considered.

Persons employed by NMSU or currently serving as a member of the NMSU Board of Regents, or persons active in positions relating to University operations, such as state legislators or government officials, are not eligible.