Westhafer Award for Excellence in Teaching, Research or Creative Activity


  • 2006-2007 (Teaching): Nina Compton (FIN)
  • 2002-2003 (Teaching): Sherry K. Mills (ACCT/IS)
  • 1996-1997 (Teaching): Elise “Pookie” Sautter (MKTG)
  • 1983: Allan Savage (ACCT/IS)


NMSU award given in alternating years for excellence in teaching and excellence in research and creative activity. The annual award carries a monetary gift. Dr. Robert L. Westhafer, a Professor Mathematical Sciences at NMSU (1946-1957), excelled as a mathematician and teacher. He gave freely of his time and talents to his students and the university. Following his death in 1957, a group of his friends created this memorial award in his honor. Recipients of the Westhafer Award are determined annually by a faculty committee of seven who receive nominations from faculty, administrators, and students. The monetary award is given alternatively for excellence in teaching and research and is contributed by interested faculty and friends through the NMSU Foundation.