LCSN: EYE ON RESEARCH: NMSU honors millionaire researchers

March 30, 2010. Retrieved online: March 30, 2010 from Darrell J. Pehr/For the Sun-News, Las Cruces Sun-News

LAS CRUCES — Faculty and staff at New Mexico State University whose research projects generated funding of $1 million or more during the 2008-09 fiscal year were honored this month.

The plaques and certificates were awarded by NMSU President Barbara Couture and Vimal Chaitanya, NMSU’s vice president for Research, Graduate Studies and International Programs.

A special reception took place March 9 at NMSU’s Stan Fulton Athletic Center to recognize the efforts of 46 researchers in six academic colleges, the College of Extended Learning and Student Success, New Mexico Space Grant Consortium, Physical Science Laboratory and NMSU’s Doña Ana Community College.

NMSU researchers brought in $154 million in contracts and grants for the fiscal year 2008-09, some 76 percent of which was brought in by the researchers who were recognized at the special reception.

“Research and scholarly activity can be measured in many ways,” Chaitanya said. “Today we are recognizing these outstanding researchers who brought in more than a million dollars during the fiscal year 2008-09.

“We are grateful to them and other researchers who are serving the needs of the local community, state, nation and indeed the world while training our students in conducting responsible research,” Chaitanya said. “For a land-grant institution like NMSU, classified as a high research doctoral university by the Carnegie Foundation, research is a very important component. It helps in economic development of the state, strengthens graduate degree programs and attracts outstanding talent to be part of our community.”

“Eye on Research” is provided by New Mexico State University. This week’s feature was written by Darrell J. Pehr of University Communications.

Millionaires’ club

College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences

  • Katherine Bachman
  • Jon Boren
  • Ronnie Byford
  • Barbara Chamberlin
  • Christopher Cramer
  • LeRoy Daugherty
  • Shuguang Deng
  • Jeanne Gleason
  • Debra Peters
  • Robert Silver
  • Carolyn VanderGiesen
  • Linda Wells

College of Arts and Sciences

  • Kurt Anderson
  • Jeffrey Arterburn
  • Wanda Maria Bulger-Tamez
  • Katherine Giles
  • Peter Houde
  • Patrick Morandi

College of Business

  • James Peach

College of Education

  • Nancy Baptiste
  • Elizabeth Cahill
  • Karin Wiburg

College of Engineering

  • James Conca
  • Abbas Ghassemi
  • Ricardo Jacquez
  • Eric Johnson
  • Andrew Rosenthal

College of Health and Social Services

  • Shelly Bucher

College of Extended Learning and Student Success

  • Carmen Gonzales

New Mexico Space Grant Consortium

  • Patricia Hynes

Physical Science Laboratory

  • Jerry Anderson
  • J. Allen Baker
  • Danny Ball
  • Ray Bernstein
  • Philip Copeland
  • Bob Dickenshied
  • Joanne Esparza
  • Michael Garcia
  • Stuart Head
  • Stephen Hottman
  • Barry Hudy
  • Stephen Lowe
  • Marcos Quinones

Doña Ana Community College

  • Sylvia Duran Nickerson
  • Maria Valencia Glenn
  • John Walker

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.