Local NMSU students recognized in ‘Who’s Who’

Feb. 28, 2006 by Natisha Hales NMSU News Center

Forty-four New Mexico State University students will be included in the 2006 edition of “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.” The selections are based on academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success.

“Who’s Who provides our students with an opportunity to be recognized for their contributions or service to the NMSU community,” said Scott Moore, NMSU’s dean of students. “In today’s competitive job market, recognition for this award can positively support students’ career pursuits.”

Students from Las Cruces selected for the 2006 “Who’s Who” honor include Katharine Buntsma Ash and Carlos Valles, College of Arts and Sciences; Helen Barela, Jarrad Bourger, C.J. Dennis, Vickie Hu Poirier and Gabriela Sanchez, College of Business; Chelsea P. Porter, Denise M. Strawn and Betsy Taylor, College of Education; Judith Gallardo from the College of Engineering; and Marti M. Morales from the Graduate School.

Jaime C. Gonzales of Anthony, N.M., was selected from the College of Education.

International students selected for the honor include Tszyin Kan of Hong Kong, Kun Xiang of China and Hien Nguyen of Vietnam, all from the Graduate School.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.