NMSU faculty named to ‘Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers’

Jan. 12, 2005 by Rocio Rueda NMSU News Center

Thirty-nine New Mexico State University main campus and three Doña Ana Branch Community College faculty members were featured in the 8th edition of “Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers,” published in October 2004.

Honored from the NMSU College of Agriculture and Home Economics are Martha J. Desmond and Gary W. Roemer of the Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences Department; Gregory Francesco Blanch and Priscilla Cross Bloomquist, Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management; and Jerry M. Hawkes, Agricultural Economics and Agricultural Business.

Professors from the College of Arts and Sciences named to the directory are Cynthia Lynn Bejarano, G. Larry Mays and Latham Thomas Winfree Jr., Criminal Justice; Nancy V.A. Baker and William A. Taggart, Government; Cecilia R. Pino, Languages and Linguistics; Beth Pollack, head of the Languages and Linguistics Department; Deana C. Dunlavy, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Anne P. Hubbell, Communication Studies; Irene Neumann Brown, English; Caroline Perkins Sweezy, Mathematical Sciences; Christine Clark Sanders, Music; and Michael Edwin West, Physics.

Honored from the College of Business Administration and Economics are Kevin K. McNelis, Ed Scribner and Cindy Seipel, Accounting; Nina H. Compton, Finance; James Thomas Peach, Economics; and Elise “Pookie” Sautter, Marketing.

Professors from the College of Education named to the directory are Nancy E. Baptiste, Stanley Roland Lopez, Luis Vicente Reyes and Kyle David Shanton of Curriculum and Instruction; Susan Wightman Brown and Joyce A. Hill of the Education Research Center; Cheryl Ann Coker, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance; and Kristine Renee Derer, Special Education and Communication Disorders.

Professors from the College of Engineering named to the directory are Clinton B. Woodward Jr., Civil Engineering; Edward Pines, Electrical Engineering; Kwong Tai Ng, Klipsch School of Electrical and Computer Engineering; and Steven M. Frank, Surveying.

Honored from the College of Health and Social Services are Jeffrey Earl Brandon, dean of the college, and Mary M. Hoke, Nursing Department head.

Terry L. Cook of the Center for Learning Assistance also is listed.

From DABCC, honorees are Michelle Victoria Guzman-Armijo, English; Kate Rhodes, Health and Public Services Division; and Edgar R. Roman, Health Occupations Program.

“Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers” honors educators nominated by students from “Who’s Who Among American High School Students,” “Who’s Who Among American High School Students-Sports Edition” and “The National Dean’s List.” It is the only recognition program in the education field where the ultimate consumers of education — the students — have the opportunity and responsibility to honor the teachers who have most significantly impacted their lives.

About 156,000 teachers are featured in the 8th edition of the “Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers” directory. The first edition was published in 1990 and, beginning in 2004, the directory will be published annually.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.