NMSU Foundation leadership, new board members take the helm

February 21, 2014 by Julie M. Hughes, NMSU News Center

The New Mexico State University Foundation 2014 officers and newly elected board members have begun their service to the organization.

The NMSU Foundation is a separately incorporated, nonprofit organization existing solely for the benefit of New Mexico State University. The purpose of the Foundation is to secure, manage and invest private gifts for the benefit of NMSU’s teaching, research, extension education and public service programs.

John Cordova will serve as chair of the board; Nick Franklin, vice-chair; Lee Ellen Banks, secretary; Brenda Porter, treasurer; and Jo Raabe-Asprey, past chair.

Cordova is director of sports transaction management for the Coca Cola Company in Atlanta, Ga. He has a bachelor’s and master’s degree in business from NMSU. He also serves on the board of New Mexico State Sports Enterprises Inc. Cordova is an avid supporter of NMSU.

Franklin is a retired senior vice president of public affairs, and lives in Newport Beach, Calif. He was interim vice president for university advancement and NMSU Foundation president from 2008-2011. He has a bachelor’s in government from NMSU and a law degree from the George Washington University. He has been a long-time supporter of NMSU.

Banks is the finance controller for Varay Systems in El Paso. She has a bachelor’s degree in accounting from NMSU.

Porter is a retired elementary school teacher and now an associate broker with Steinborn and Associates Real Estate. She has a bachelor’s in elementary education, with a certification in early childhood education and a minor in counseling and educational psychology from NMSU. She also received her master’s degree from NMSU.

Raabe-Asprey was owner and president of Adventure Aviation in Las Cruces. She and her late husband, Robert Asprey, were recipients of an honorary doctorate in 2002 and have been long-time supporters of NMSU.

The board elected Presley Askew, Raquel Bone, Christian Hendrickson, Pat Lamb, Alma Levy, Gary Poling, Richard Ridings, Joseph Salopek and Marianne Shipley as new members for a three-year term.

Askew graduated from NMSU with a bachelor’s in education. Although retired, he is an active volunteer in several Colorado organizations.

Bone earned two degrees from NMSU, including a bachelor’s in finance and international business in 1991 and a master’s in finance in 1993. She also holds a master’s of public administration from the University of Southern California. She is a senior product manager in Treasury & Securities Services Liquidity Solutions.

Hendrickson graduated with honors from NMSU with a major in government and law and society. He received a law degree from the University of Colorado in 2000. He is a civil trial lawyer and partner with Sherman & Howard, the oldest law firm in Colorado and one of the largest with offices in Colorado, Arizona, Nevada, Missouri and Georgia.

Lamb is a former member of the NMSU Foundation Board, serving from 1996 to 2012. A former marketing director for Wells Fargo, he is semi-retired, working as a consultant on various projects.

Levy earned her bachelor’s and master’s in electrical engineering from NMSU in 1984 and 1987, respectively, and her law degree from Loyola Law School in Los Angeles in 1998. She serves in the Intellectual Property Practice Group in the Orange County office of Haynes and Boone.

Poling earned a bachelor’s in chemical engineering from NMSU in 1981 and a master’s in business administration from the Monfort College of Business in 1983. He is the president of True North Capital Group, which provides financial coaching and investment management for families and individuals.

Ridings came to NMSU to play football then transferred to the University of Texas Arlington to complete his degree in civil engineering. He later attended graduate school at Southwest Texas State University earning a master’s of public administration and recognition as a distinguished graduate in 1980. He currently serves as vice president, central division, for HNTB based in Austin, Texas.

Salopek graduated from the NMSU College of Agricultural Consumer and Environmental Sciences with a bachelor’s in agricultural economics and agricultural business in 2004. He is actively involved with the family farming business Salopek 6U Farms Inc. A fourth generation pecan farmer, he currently assists with management of the farm.

Shipley graduated with honors from the NMSU College of Business in 1983. She utilizes her experience in strategic marketing, communication and corporate brand positioning at Baylor Scott & White Health. She credits her expertise in cross-functional collaboration and the love of NMSU to her father, the late NMSU president emeritus Gerald W. Thomas.

The board also honored Libby Pruett as an emeriti board member for her dedication and service to NMSU and the NMSU Foundation.

Pruett is a 1963 graduate of NMSU with a bachelor’s in secondary education. She served as a member of the NMSU Foundation from 1997 to 2012. She is a lifetime alumni member and served on the Alumni International Board from 2001 to 2003. She was inducted into the College of Business Hall of Fame in 2008 and is an 1888 Society member. Pruett and her husband have established a number of endowed scholarships.

Continuing on the board are MaryLou Davis, Del Esparza, Smoky Torgerson, Tana Lucy, Bill Sheriff, Mike Johnson, Patty Lopez, Reynie Ortiz, Dan Socolofsky, Danny Villanueva, Browning Yelvington, Jackie Edwards, Philip Cook, Bradley Gordon, Dion Messer, Larry Allen, Herman Baca, Terry Johnson, Larry Lujan, Tom Mobley, John Papen, III, Lonnie Terry, Brian Charlton, Sandy Zane, Greg Green, Kyle Louvar, Randy Pugh, Jagdev Cheema and Bobby Lutz.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.