NMSU Foundation selects leadership, new board members for 2012

November 2, 2011 by Julie M. Hughes, NMSU News Center

The New Mexico State University Foundation selected its 2012 slate of officers and elected new board members at its fall meeting Oct. 28.

The NMSU Foundation is a separately incorporated, nonprofit organization developed solely for the benefit of New Mexico State University. The purpose of the Foundation is to secure, manage, and invest private gifts for the benefit of NMSU’s teaching, research, extension education and public service programs.

Jo Raabe-Asprey will serve as chair of the board; John Cordova, vice-chair; MaryLou Davis, secretary; Lee Ellen Banks, treasurer; and Mike Johnson, past chair.

Raabe-Asprey is owner and president of Adventure Aviation in Las Cruces. She and her late husband, Robert Asprey, were recipients of an honorary doctorate in 2002 and have been long-time supporters of NMSU.

Cordova is director of marketing for the Coca Cola Company in Atlanta, Ga. He has a bachelor’s and master’s in business from NMSU.

Davis is a retired educator who lives in Scottsdale, Ariz. She has a bachelor’s in education from NMSU.

Banks is the finance controller for ReadyOne Industries in El Paso, Texas. She has a bachelor’s in accounting from NMSU.

Johnson retired from ConocoPhillips Co. in 2002 and currently serves on several corporate boards of directors. He has a bachelor’s degree in geological sciences from NMSU and was awarded an honorary doctorate in 2006.

The board also elected new members to serve a three-year term, including Phillip W. Cook, Ammu Devasthali, Bradley Gordon and Dion Messer.

Cook is the senior vice president and chief financial officer for Quicksilver Resources in Fort Worth, Texas. Quicksilver is an independent energy company primarily engaged in exploration, development and production of unconventional natural gas onshore in North America. He has an accounting degree from NMSU, serves on the College of Business Advisory Council and was the college’s distinguished alumnus in 2000.

Devasthali is an artist and has a studio, Art Ventures, in Las Cruces. She creates jewelry, sculptures, prints and paintings. She has a master’s degree in printmaking and a Master of Fine Arts in painting from NMSU and was the distinguished alumna for the College of Arts and Sciences in 2010. She has been a leader in the efforts to bring the Center for the Arts to fruition at NMSU.

Gordon is a retired corporate executive and venture capitalist, serving most recently as vice president of finance and corporate planning of the Celgene Corporation, a New Jersey-based biopharmaceutical company. He also has been involved in the startup of 11 companies, mostly in the biotech field. He has a marketing degree from NMSU and received an honorary doctorate in 2010. He also was the College of Business distinguished alumnus in 2006.

Messer is a lawyer with IP Corporate Counsel, Limelight Networks in Tempe, Ariz. She focuses her practice on intellectual property litigation. She also co-owns Objective Engineering and serves as president. Messer has an electrical engineering degree from NMSU.

Those re-elected to the board for an additional three-year term are Jack Cooper, Patricia Lopez, Jackie Mitchell-Edwards, Reynie Ortiz, Dan Socolofsky, Danny Villanueva, Browning Yelvington and Maya Theus.

Continuing on the board are Herman Baca, Dino Camunez, Brian Charlton, Timothy Clifford, Del Esparza, Nick Franklin, Jake Hill, Terry Johnson, Pat Lamb, John Long, Tana Lucy, Larry Lujan, Tom Mobley, John Papen III, Brenda Porter, Libby Pruett, Bobby Rankin, Sandra Ricci, Ben Salopek, Lonnie Terry, Charles Tharp, Smoky Torgerson, Jose Uranga, Scott Williams and Sandy Zane.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.