NMSU honors faculty and staff during Spring Convocation

Pat Gavin (PGA GM Program director), recipient of the 2008 Donald C. Roush Award for Teaching Excellence.

Left to right: Convocation award recipients Martha Mitchell, Elba Serrano, Thomas Burton, David Jauregui, Charles Creusere, Eve Adams, Wanda Whittlesey-Jerome, Ruth Cantrell, Kathy Greenwood, Loretta Diehl, Nina Javaher, Patrick Gavin, Nancy Baker, Jay Lillywhite, Mary Ballyk, and Kenny Stevens. (photo by Darren Phillips)

Jan. 13, 2009 by Justin Bannister NMSU News Center

New Mexico State University began the spring 2009 semester by celebrating the accomplishments of faculty members during the Spring Convocation ceremony. Convocation is held at the beginning of each semester and is meant to inform staff and faculty members about the upcoming semester. It is traditional for NMSU to give out various awards during the ceremony.

Ruth Cantrell, a faculty member in the Department of Theatre Arts, was awarded the Dennis W. Darnall Faculty Achievement Award. The award is presented each year to a faculty member for achievements in teaching and research and for service to the community and the university.

Cantrell is an actress, director, professor and mentor. She has established enrichment programs that help students discover their creative abilities through theatre, literature and history. One of her most successful programs is the Children’s Theatre Workshop, an after-school and summer drama program. Her areas of research and creativity focus on creative dramatics, childrenâ’s theatre, playwriting and acting.

Eleven faculty members were recognized for winning the Donald C. Roush Excellence in Teaching Award. Named for a former NMSU executive vice president in recognition of his 35 years of teaching improvement in New Mexico, the annual Roush award recognizes NMSU faculty for teaching excellence.

The 2009 Roush award winners are Jay Lillywhite, Department of Agricultural Economics and Agricultural Business; Mary Ballyk, Department of Mathematical Sciences; Tim Ketelaar, Department of Psychology; Patrick M. Gavin, Department of Marketing; Eve Adams, Department of Counseling and Educational Psychology; Kenny Stevens, Department of Engineering Technology and Surveying Engineering; Wanda Whittlesey-Jerome, School of Social Work; Loretta H. Diehl, Nursing, NMSU-Alamogordo; Kathy Greenwood, English, NMSU-Carlsbad; Nina Javaher, Business and Information Systems, NMSU’s Dona Ana Community College; and Joan Erben, Humanities, NMSU-Grants.

Charles D. Creusere was awarded the International Foundation for Telemetering Professorship in Telecommunications. Creusere is an associate professor at the Klipsch School of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He received an educational fellowship from the Department of Defense and a Certificate of Merit for the outstanding technical paper “Automatic target recognition directed image compression.”

John P. Loveland, in the Department of Management, was awarded the John P. Loveland Professorship in Quality Management. Loveland has served as a professor of management, department head of management and director of key college programs including the Center for Quality Management and Manufacturing. Throughout his 36 years of service at NMSU, his academic and professional focus was on leadership.

Martha C. Mitchell, in the Department of Chemical Engineering, was awarded the Robert Davis Chemical Engineering Professorship. Mitchell’s research mainly focuses on computer-aided design of fuel/oxidizer operations, separation of light gas mixtures using inorganic molecular sieve membranes, molecular density functional theory, and simulation of leaching of radioactive isotopes.

Thomas D. Burton, in the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, was awarded the Robert G. Myers Mechanical Engineering Department Head Professorship. Burton helped develop NMSU’s aerospace engineering program. His research has been in the general area of dynamics and vibrations and has included work in several specialties.

Robin T. Peterson, in the Department of Marketing, has been awarded the Robin T. Peterson Endowed Chair in Marketing. Peterson has been part of NMSU since 1976. While at NMSU, he’s held various distinguished professorships, and has received two Fulbright awards and the 2002 Educator of the Year award presented by the Association of Small Business and Entrepreneurship.

David V. Jauregui, in the Department of Civil Engineering, was awarded the Wells/Hatch Family Civil Engineering Professorship. He teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in mechanics of materials, structural analysis, steel design and behavior, experimental methods, and bridge engineering. His research focuses on the condition evaluation of bridge structures using analytical techniques and nondestructive testing methods.

Click the link below to see a webcast of the 2009 Spring Convocation.


This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL.