NMSU honors faculty and staff during Spring Convocation

Mary Jo Billiot (Accounting/IS Dept), recipient of the 2007 Donald C. Roush Award for Teaching Excellence.

Roush Award winners from right to left, Priscilla Bloomquist, Steve Holmes, J. Phillip King, Robert G. Blair, Joseph M. Berning, Carolyn Rayroux, John B. Wright, Mary Jo Billiot, Stan Carlson, Cynthia Bejarano and David Burleson. (NMSU Photo by David Pierre)

January 15, 2008 by Justin Bannister NMSU News Center

New Mexico State University celebrated the beginning of the spring 2008 semester by recognizing award-winning faculty and staff members.

Ricardo B. Jacquez, an NMSU civil engineering professor, is a recipient of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring. He was honored at the White House last fall.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring is supported and administered by the National Science Foundation. It recognizes the critical importance of mentors in the academic and personal development of students and colleagues who are underrepresented in the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Jacquez and his fellow awardees each received a grant for $100,000 to continue and advance their mentoring.

Eleven faculty members from main campus and the NMSU community colleges were recognized for winning the Donald C. Roush Excellence in Teaching Award. Named for a former NMSU executive vice president in recognition of his 35 years of teaching improvement in New Mexico, the annual Roush award recognizes NMSU faculty for teaching excellence.

Roush award winners are Priscilla Bloomquist, hotel, restaurant and tourism management; Cynthia Bejarano, criminal justice; John B. White, geography; Mary Jo Billiot, accounting and information systems; Joseph M. Berning, human performance, dance and recreation; J. Phillip King, civil engineering; Robert G. Blair, social work; Steve Holmes, engineering technology, NMSU Alamogordo; Carolyn Rayroux, nursing, NMSU Carlsbad; David Burleson, history, NMSU Dona Ana Community College; and Stan Carlson, natural sciences, NMSU Grants.

The university also recognized four staff members with the FirstLight Federal Credit Union Staff Achievement Awards. These are presented to both exempt and non-exempt employees based on exceptional service to their “clients.” Each NMSU employee serves some type of “client,” such as students, other NMSU staff members, outside contractors or agencies, or the general public.

FirstLight award winners include John Taylor, athletics; Patrick Torres, Santa Fe County Extension Office; Alma Meza, education management and development; and Dana Wiebe, animal and range sciences.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.