NMSU students, faculty to receive Sony computer equipment awards

November 1, 2012 by Minerva Baumann, NMSU News Center

2012 Sony Education Scholarship Program Awards ceremony
NMSU Students and faculty award recipients, Sony Electronics, Intel Corp. officials
Monday, Nov. 5 from 3- 5 p.m.
NMSU golf course banquet room, 3000 Herb Wimberly Drive
Students and faculty will be presented with a variety of equipment including: Sony VAIO laptop computers, state of the art Sony Cameras, PlayStations, Mp3 players, tablet computers and accessory packages

Five New Mexico State University students and two faculty members will be awarded Sony computers and equipment on Monday, Nov. 5 from 3-5 p.m. at the NMSU Golf course banquet room, 30000 Herb Wimberly Drive as part of the Sony Electronics Scholarship Program. NMSU was chosen along with only 30 other universities and community colleges across the country to participate in the program.

“This is the fourth year NMSU will be part of this generous program, made possible by Sony Electronics, with support from Intel Corporation,” said Shaun Cooper, NMSU’s chief information officer. “These are challenging economic times for everyone and we have had the benefit of seeing how Sony’s technology packages for students and faculty have made a difference over the years.”

The students will receive:

  • a VAIO E Series laptop computer,
  • a VAIO laptop backpack,
  • a PlayStation Vita (Wi-Fi),
  • PlayStation Vita starter kit,
  • a Sony Action Cam with 16 gig memory card,
  • a Walkman MP3 player,
  • and a digital voice recorder with voice-to-print software.

The package adds up to $1,200.

Faculty will receive:

  • a VAIO E Series laptop,
  • a VAIO laptop backpack,
  • a Sony Alpha NEX-7 camera with an 18-55 mm lens and accessory kit,
  • a camcorder softcase,
  • and a 32-gig Xperia Tablet 5 with cover and keyboard.

The faculty package is valued at $2,300.

The five students to receive awards in a ceremony Nov. 5 are: Kennen Bitton, biology; Daniel Franco, civil engineering; Nicole Jeffries, marketing; Jonnathon C. Lazdowski-Macaw, electrical engineering; and Stephanie Robles, pre-nursing.

The two faculty members receiving awards are: Gavin Clarkson, from the Business College and Cecilia Hernandez in the College of Education.

To be eligible, the students must be first-generation college students, have a 3.0 or better grade-point average, and be active in campus or community leadership roles. The faculty must be full-time, tenure-track junior faculty who have demonstrated progress toward achieving tenure in a field of science, technology or media.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.