NMSU students inducted into honor society

Dec. 16, 2008 by Margaret Kovar NMSU News Center

The New Mexico State University chapter of Phi Kappa Phi inducted students and honored President Waded Cruzado during its induction ceremony Dec. 5.

The honor society initiated 34 juniors, seniors and graduate students. Cruzado was inducted into the chapter as an honorary lifetime member. Anthony Marin, director of the Student Success Center–Hardman was initiated as a representative of NMSU professional staff.

The Gerald Thomas Outstanding Junior from each college also was recognized. Each student is selected by the dean of their college. The award is named for former President Gerald Thomas and recognizes outstanding scholarship and character.

Outstanding juniors for 2007-2008 were: Morgan Nelson, College of Agriculture and Home Economics; Sarah Stoltzfus, College of Arts and Sciences; Laura Butner, College of Business; Monica Overcast, College of Education; Steven Hopkins, College of Engineering; Zac Harmon, College of Extended Learning; and Monita Alvarez, College of Health and Social Services.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 and was originally named in honor of Justin Smith Morrill, a senator who sponsored the legislation providing for land-grant universities.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

One thought on “NMSU students inducted into honor society

Comments are closed.