Skip to main content


Established in 1997 by the College of Business, the Hall of Fame award honors outstanding business college alumni who have distinguished themselves in their careers. Through the Hall of Fame, the college seeks to create visibility for its alumni and develop a strong relationship with the business community.
Created in 2006, the College of Business Traders Award honors individuals who have given exceptional service to the College of Business.
In 2009, the Traders Award was expanded to recognize outstanding contributions by corporations to the College of Business mission.
Created in 2021, the College of Business Lifetime Achievement Award honors individuals who have given outstanding contributions or service over their whole careers.

Hall of Fame Award: Bobby Lutz

Bobby Lutz came from Oklahoma in the fall of 1969 to New Mexico State University to play golf for Coach Herb Wimberly. Now more than fifty years later, Bobby credits much of his business success to his Coaches Herb Wimberly and Mickey Clute and the education received while at NMSU.

During his days at New Mexico State University Lutz earned a BBA in 1973 and an MBA in 1975. In addition, he played 4 years on the NMSU golf team, was a member of SAE, a founder of Beta Alpha Psi, and a student senator from the College of Business.

Lutz, a businessman in the Dallas, TX, area, first re-connected with NMSU through a phone call from a student working in the Aggie Pride Call Center. He is now giving back to his alma mater in several ways. He and his wife Rebecca have created scholarships for students in the College of Business, quite often in the Professional Golf Management Program founded by his coach, Herb Wimberly. He has also served as “Executive in Residence” for the college. For 5 semesters, he visited the campus every month for several days. He presented to classes, mentored students, spoken with the golf team, met with faculty, and provided one-on-one consultations for aspiring entrepreneurs at the Arrowhead Center.

Even with a demanding Dallas business schedule, Bobby currently serves on the NMSU Foundation Board and the Business School Advisory Council. He takes the initiative to engage fellow alums and donors with NMSU, and the Foundation, especially those from Dallas. In prior years Bobby has been a member of the Arrowhead Advisory Council and was the College of Business Distinguished Alumni in 2014


Corporate Traders Award: First American Bank

Chartered in Artesia in 1903, First American Bank serves New Mexico with sixteen full-service locations. Over the past century, First American Bank has remained true to its mission by providing a full spectrum of financial services; building lasting customer relationships; and being meaningful economic influence in each of the communities they serve. They have grown and expanded, their service model has developed into a respected niche bank for commercial and small business banking customers. They continue to expand the innovative products and customer-friendly services they offer, including specialized consumer products such as mortgage loans and personal wealth management.

They are not only a great place to bank, they are an exceptional place to work. They are committed to building mutually beneficial, long-term employee relationships by providing an environment that attracts, develops and retains high-quality employees. Most recently First American Bank received the Bill Daniel's Award for Excellence in Ethical Business. First American Bank is partnering with the NMSU College of Business Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative- Collegiate Program to promote ethics in the classroom.

We’d like to thank and recognize First American Bank and College of Business graduates:

  • Farrah Marquez, Market President, class of 2003
  • Joe Bullock, Business Development and past Market President, class of 1972
  • Zane Bergman, Chief Credit Officer, class of 1989
  • Greg Marrs, Chief Executive Officer, class of 1987
  • Brett deMilliano, Chief Financial Officer, class of 1989
  • John Hummer, First American Bank board director and co-founder, executive board member and President of The Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine affiliated with New Mexico State University.


Lifetime Achievement Award: Herb Wimberly

Herb Wimberly has been the heart and soul of the program since he was recruited as the head coach of the NMSU Golf Team in 1962, where he dedicated 31 years of service. During his tenure, Wimberly was named Coach of the Year six times by the Missouri Valley Conference and once by the Big West Conference.

New Mexico State University has recognized Wimberly on several occasions. He received the College of Business Traders Award in 2011 and honorary Ph.D. in 2009. Wimberly created the Carleene Wimberly Memorial Endowed Scholarship, and has numerous scholarships named in his honor.

Hall of Fame Award - E. Larry Lujan
Corporate Traders Award - Los Alamos National Laboratory and Sandia National Laboratories
Hall of Fame Award - Scott Williams
Traders Award - Garrey Carruthers
Corporate Traders Award - Independent Insurance Agents of NM (IIANM)
Hall of Fame Award - Perry Elders, Philip & Sandy Cook
Corporate Traders award - Chevron
Hall of Fame Award - Brenda Joy Baca Alvarez, James Holder
Traders Award - Bill & Sharon Sheriff